JASLab
Home
About Us
Attosecond Science
Research
Facility
People
Publications

Attosecond Science Tutorials

Producing Attosecond Pulses -- A Wave Perspective

First some background: We often think of electrons (left image) moving around an ion like a planet (middle image) moving about the sun. 

In reality electrons are more complex because we can not see them like planets. All we can see is a blur like that shown in the right figure. Like any other wave, the electron cannot be pinned down, but different from most waves that we are familiar with, the wave is trapped by the ion. The right figure shows the best "image" possible of the electron around a hydrogen atom. 

How the pulses are made: The light wave of a laser pulse tugs on the electron, splitting the electron wave in two. One part moves away from the atom, the other part remains trapped on the ion. 

When the waves overlap, they add or subtract. Here are four snap-shots of the region near the ion where the waves overlap. You will see the electron appears to wiggle back and forth across the oribtal.

All light is produced by accelerating (or oscillating) electrons. Since the oscillation is very fast, the light has very short wavelength. If the laser pulse is short enough, the interference is complete in a fraction of a femtosecond. In other words, the collision produces an attosecond pulse.

Back to Attosecond Science Tutorials Page

Huge Energy Produces Attosecond Pulses

Visualising an Attosecond

Time and the Organization of the Universe

JASLab
Accueil
À notre sujet
Science attoseconde
Reserches
Installations
Personnes
Publications
Actualités

Présentations

Production d'impulsions attosecondes -- perspective de l'onde

D'abord des renseignements de base : Nous pensons souvent que les électrons (image de gauche) se déplacent autour d'un ion comme une planète (image du centre) se déplace autour du soleil.

En réalité, les électrons sont plus complexes parce que nous ne pouvons pas les voir comme des planètes. Tout ce qu'on peut voir c'est une distribution comme celle illustrée dans l'image de droite. Comme toute autre onde, on ne peut saisir l'électron, mais, à la différence de la plupart des ondes que nous connaissons, l'onde est piégée par l'ion. La figure de droite montre la meilleure « image » possible de l'électron autour d'un atome d'hydrogène.

Création des impulsions : L'onde lumineuse d'une impulsion laser agit sur l'électron, séparant l'onde de l'électron en deux parties. Une des parties s'éloigne de l'atome, l'autre partie reste piégée sur l'ion.

Quand les ondes se chevauchent, elles s'additionnent ensemble ou se soustraient l'une de l'autre. Voici quatre clichés de la région près de l'ion où les ondes se chevauchent. On peut voir que l'électron semble osciller dans son orbitale.

Toute lumière est produite par des électrons qui accélèrent (ou oscillent). Comme l'oscillation est très rapide, la longueur d'onde de la lumière est très courte. Si l'impulsion laser est suffisamment courte, l'interférence se produit dans une fraction de femtoseconde. Autrement dit, la collision produit une impulsion attoseconde.

Retourner à la page des présentations

Une immense énergie produit une impulsion de l'ordre de l'attoseconde

Visualisation des attosecondes

Le temps et l'organisation de l'Univers